Overheard: Look up

This is an older memory, but it’s a great one. A couple of weeks ago I was standing at the northwest corner of 34th and 5th avenue, waiting for the little walking man to let me cross the busy avenue when I heard a kid screaming at his father to take him to the Empire State Building… Here’s how it went.

“DADDY!!! I WANT TO SEE IT! PLEASE!” the little child screamed as I looked over and saw him tugging on his father’s shirt. His father had his nose buried in a map of Manhattan, oblivious to the screams. (on a side note, I always wonder if once you become a parent if you lose part of your ability to hear children’s whimperings)

“It’s around here somewhere son. Hold on, I know the empire state building is here somewhere,” the father responded, nose still buried in the map.

“But daddy! I want to see the Empire state building, why can’t I see it?” The kid kept pestering his father.

“I don’t know, I don’t know. I can’t find it on the map. I think we’re close, but I don’t know where the empire state building is. Why can’t I find the empire state building,” the father said as he finally took his face away from the map. At that exact moment, after he asked himself that absurd question, a lovely New Yorker walked right at him, and grunted.

“Why don’t you take your damn nose out of the map and look up!”

Funny point to this… they were literally standing in front of it. I don’t know if they thought in their mind that they’d see the spire as they walked towards it… or what, but yes… all they had to do, standing on that corner was look straight up…

One thought on “Overheard: Look up

Leave a Reply

